The 5 Love Languages- The Book that will improve your relationship

  • SumoMe

Do you know how to show love to your husband or boyfriend? Do you ever wish your wife would show her love more often?   Maintaining a strong, vibrant love relationship can be difficult. The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, by Gary Chapman, can provide the key to strengthening  your  love relationship.  As Dr. Chapman explains, each one of us has a love language.  Our  primary love language is the way that we best feel loved.

The five Love Languages are:

#1 Words of Affirmation-This includes verbal expressions of love, compliments and words of encouragement. If this is your loved one’s language, tell her how much you appreciate her support and how much you love her.

#2 Quality Time– Spending time with your significant other, not just being there, but focusing on them and listening to their thoughts and feelings is essential for one whose love language is quality time.  If he loves quality time, turn off the TV, put away the cell phones, spend the time- just the two of you- talking and doing your favorite activities.

#3 Receiving Gifts–  When you receive a gift, it means that the gift giver was thinking of you.  The gift is a symbol of the thought.  The  gift does not have to be an expensive one. If your significant other’s love language is receiving gifts, create your own card, give flowers “just because”.

#4 Acts of Service– Includes showing love through acts including expressing love through chores, running errands home repairs etc. If this is your love’s love language, do the chore he hates the most for a week.

#5 Physical Touch– Touch is a powerful expression of love.  It includes holding hands, kissing and physical intimacy.  If touch is your loved one’s  primary love, embrace him when he doesn’t expect it. Kiss him often. Hold his hand.

It is essential to know your love language and the love language of your significant other.  To determine your love language, ask yourself these questions:

  • How do I express love to others?
  • What do I complain about the most?
  • What do I request most often ?

The 5 Love Languages provides suggestions for showing love for each of the five love languages.  It also provides a love language assessment that will help you determine your primary love language.

Once you know your significant other’s  love language , make a commitment to  speak that language to your loved one- each day.  Consistency is the key.

There are several different versions of the 5 Love Languages, including the Men’s Edition, married and single editions.  There is even a children and teens edition that will help you learn your children’s love language and strengthen the parent-child bond.

Discover your love language and the love language of the one you love!